|
|
|
Subject Guides
The guides (Pathfinders) below are designed to get you started in your research; they list electronic and print resources available at the library, as well as recommended websites, and selected community resources, on subjects of interest to patrons. For further assistance in your research, please call the Central library's Reference desk at (805) 564-5604.
Business Start-Up |
Consumer Health | Family History
Grant Seekers' Resources |
Jobseekers' Resources
Legal Resources
Business Start-Up
Online Databases (accessible from home with your library card number)
Reference Book Collection
- California Retail Survey – R381.10979
- Encyclopedia of Associations – Reference Desk
- Industry Norms and Key Business Ratios – R338.50212
- Pacific Coast Business Times … Book of Lists – Reference Desk
- Santa Barbara County Economic Outlook – Reference Desk
Circulating Book Collection
- Guides to Starting a Business; Business Plans - 658.022
- Legal Forms and Guides - 346.73065
- Finance; Raising Capital - 658.1592
- Marketing - 658.8
Internet Resources

Consumer Health
Online Databases (accessible from home with your library card number)
Reference Book Collection
- Physician’s Desk Reference – R615.1
- Current Medical Diagnosis & Treatment – R616.075
- Diagnostic & Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-IV) – R616.89075
- Mosby’s Medical Dictionary – R610.3
Circulating Book Collection
- Diet & Nutrition - 613.2
- Physical Fitness - 613.7
- Guides to Alternative Medicine - 615.5
- Diseases - 616
Internet Resources

Family History
Online Databases
- Ancestry Library Edition
To connect from computers inside the library
(Access available from inside the library only)
Search like the pros-check out this great tutorial!
Have you ever wanted to learn how to better use Ancestry's search technology to find your ancestors? This video is your chance to learn from an Ancestry expert. You'll learn valuable tips, tricks and techniques that will help you get the most out of Ancestry.
Reference Book Collection
- Directory of Genealogical and Historical Societies in the U.S. and Canada – R929.1025
- Red Book : American State, County, and Town Sources – R929.1072
- The Source : A Guidebook to American Genealogy – R929.1072
- What Did They Mean by That?: Dictionary of Historical and Genealogical Terms – R423.1
- Santa Barbara News-Press – Local newspaper of record, on microfilm to 1855
Circulating Book Collection
- Basic Guides to Genealogical Research - 929.1
- Genealogy Research on the Internet - 929.10285
- Genealogy Directories - 929.1072
Internet Resources
Santa Barbara Community Resource
- Sahyun Library, Santa Barbara County Genealogical Society, 316 Castillo St., Santa Barbara, CA 93109. Phone No. (805) 884-9909

Grant Seekers' Resources
Databases (accessible only within Central Library)
Reference Book Collection – the Foundation Center
- The Grantseeker’s Guide to Winning Proposals – R658.15224 2008
- The Foundation Directory – R061 2009
- Foundation Giving Trends: update on funding priorities – R361-7632 2009
- Foundation Yearbook: facts and figures on private and community foundations – R361.7632
- Guide to funding for international and foreign programs – R361.76 2008
Circulating Book Collection
- Fundraising – 361.7
- Non-profits – 346.73064
- Private foundations – 361.763
- Proposal writing for grants – 658.15224
Internet Resources
Santa Barbara Community Resources

Job Seekers' Resources
Online Databases [Accessible from home with your library card]
Reference Book Collection [Available at Central only]
- Occupational Outlook Handbook – R371.425
- Test Books – Exam Preparation – Study Guides – Located at Reference Stacks
Circulating Book Collection
- Job hunting, Resumes, Interviewing – 650.14
- Career Guides – 331.7
Internet Resources [Access the Web from 20 Internet computers, or use our free Wifi]
Santa Barbara Community Resources
- CA Employment Development Dept. Workforce Resource Center, 128 E. Ortega St. Tel: 568-1280
- Select Staffing, 1919 State St., Suite 101. Tel: 569-0170
- Crossroads Staffing, 1213 State St., Suite K. Tel: 962-0711
- AppleOne Employment Services, 1636 State St.
Tel: 569-9024

Legal Resources
Reference Book Collection
- Blumberg's California Family Code – R346.79401
- 101 Law Forms for Personal Use – R347.7355
- California Penal Code – R348.794
Circulating Book Collection
- Immigration Law – 342.7
- Landlord and Tenant Law – 346.7
- Family and Divorce Law – 346.7
- Estate Planning – 346.7305
Internet Resources
Santa Barbara Community Resources
- Legal Resource Center of Santa Barbara County Superior Court
1100 Anacapa St., Santa Barbara, CA 93101, (805) 568-3303 http://www.sbcourts.org/srl/
- McMahon Law Library
1100 Anacapa St., Santa Barbara, CA 93101, (805) 568-2296 http://www.countylawlibrary.org/
- Lawyer Referral Service of the Santa Barbara County Bar Association
123 W. Padre St. Suite E, Santa Barbara, California 93105, (805) 569-9400
- Santa Barbara Teen Legal Clinic
1215 De La Vina St. Suite I, Santa Barbara, CA 93101 http://sbteenlegal.org/

|
|
|